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MEMORANDUM 
 

 
TO:  HIGH PERFORMANCE TRANSPORTATION ENTERPRISE BOARD 
FROM:   NICHOLAS FARBER, ACTING DIRECTOR, HPTE 
  ANDREW GOMEZ, ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL 
DATE:   APRIL 17, 2019 
SUBJECT:  EFFECTS OF DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE “DESTINATION SOURCING RULE” 

 
 
 
Purpose  
The purpose of this memorandum is to describe the effects of the Department of Revenue’s (“DOR”) new 
sales tax regulations that compels retailers to collect and remit sales tax based on where a taxable good 
is delivered, instead of where it is sold.  Because HPTE sells taxable goods to the public (in the form of 
switchable transponders), HPTE is subject to the regulations.    
 
Requested Action 
Because of the effects of the new sales tax regulations, the HPTE Board is asked to provide policy 
direction based on the options below. 
 
Background 
Effective June 1, 2019, DOR’s new sales tax regulations become law (see generally 1 CCR 201-4).  The 
new regulation compels online retailers that selling over $100,000 annually to collect and remit sales tax 
based on the jurisdiction’s tax rate at the taxable good’s place of delivery (the “Destination Sourcing 
Rule”).  Previously, online retailers needed to collect and remit sales tax based on the location of the 
business’s address only, and not the location of the customer’s address who purchased the taxable good.   
 
For example, HPTE (as the online retailer selling over $100,000 annually) collects and remits sales tax 
on the purchase of its switchable transponders using CDOT Headquarters’ address in determining the tax 
rates.  Because CDOT Headquarters is housed within the boundaries of the City and County of Denver 
(“CCD”), HPTE complies with all applicable sales tax rates specific to CCD.  Once that sales tax is 
collected, it is then remitted to CCD on a monthly basis.  This process is similarly followed as it relates 
to the State of Colorado’s state sales tax collection and remittance procedures for two branches (Denver 
and Arapahoe County), as well as four Use Tax/Rural Taxing Authorities.  Thus, in sum, HPTE collects 
and remits sales tax for seven taxing jurisdictions. Currently, these tax rates are determined manually 
through Excel spreadsheets that are received from E-470.    
 
Now, with the Destination Sourcing Rule, HPTE must charge the appropriate sales tax rate that applies 
to the location to which the transponder is delivered, including any overlapping special district taxes and 
County taxes.  Additionally, HPTE must remit the collected tax with that specific taxing jurisdiction, 
which includes purchasing a tax and/or business license with that taxing jurisdiction.  This means that 
HPTE could, conceivably, be compelled to collect and remit sales tax with the 700+ taxing jurisdictions 
in Colorado, not including states outside of Colorado that have their own tax law compliance procedures.  
Based on past transponder purchases, HPTE estimates an average of 75 taxing jurisdictions and a total 
of 500 returns filed annually. 
 
 



 

Overview of Transponder Purchases 
HPTE purchases transponders from Neology for $10.30 per transponder, which is then sold online to the 
public for $15.00. The $15 per transponder was calculated in 2014 to cover HPTE’s sales tax liability and 
overhead (envelopes and postage). Each month, HPTE averages 4,400 transponders sold to the public, 
with over $60,000.00 in sales. The average amount of sales tax remitted per month is $900.00. E-470 
provides an Excel spreadsheet documenting the addresses. 
 
Because of the Destination Sourcing Rule, HPTE has contacted several vendors who specialize in sales tax 
compliance. Any tax vendor would file and remit on behalf of HPTE. Pricing varies amongst the vendors.  
Additionally, any changes to the way transponder sales are sold will likely incur added fees from E-470. 
 
Policy Considerations / Options 

Given that the Destination Sourcing Rule will likely increase HPTE’s cost of doing business, the Board 
must consider several options:  

1.  Do not charge a fee for the transponders, thereby avoiding any sales tax payments.  E-
470 has indicated that updating their software to reflect free transponders would cost $122,150.  

2.  Raise the price of the transponders to cover the added cost of calculating and remitting 
sales tax.  E-470 is still researching if there’s a cost associated with this, but has indicated there 
might be little to no cost for HPTE to implement an increase in the transponder price. 

3.  Sell transponders at the CDOT region offices, thereby making sales tax calculations 
static. E-470 has indicated that updating their software to reflect sales at region offices would 
cost $82,928.   

4.  Create a deposit system whereby customers do not own the transponders and instead 
place a deposit of $15 that is to be remitted back to the customer once the transponder is 
returned to HPTE. Sales tax would still be due once the deposit period has expired. E-470 has 
indicated that updating their software to reflect a deposit scheme would cost $291,720.  

5.  Keep the cost of transponders at $15 and take no action.  

Decision Matrix 

1. Staff Recommendation:  
a. Approve an outside sales tax vendor until a permanent solution is determined. Staff will 

also research emerging transponder technologies, and will have options to present to the 
Board in the Fall of this year. 

b. Implement Option 2: Raise the price of transponders to cover the added costs of 
calculating and remitting sales tax.  The attached Break-Even Cost Analysis shows a range 
between low sales, where the cost of the transponder would have to be $18.59 to 
breakeven, and average sales would be $17.54 to breakeven.  To cover any fluctuations 
in sales, HPTE staff recommends a transponder sale price of $18.00. 

Attachment 

Break-Even Cost Analysis  

 



3.502608089
8.31% Note

Transpoder cost (per 
Unit)

Fulfillement and 
management cost 
(per unit)

Tax filing  cost 
(per month)1

Tax filing  cost 
(per unit)1

CDOT staff cost 
(per month)

Average tax 
rates

Breakeven sale 
price per unit

Sales tax owed by HPTE for transponders purchased by customer

10.30$                              3.50$                          9,000$                3.14$                  650.00$                0.23$                 Sales and Business Licenses
Low sales Sales tax preparation and filing

total 17.17$                  8.31% 18.59$                  

Sales          44,943  $   674,145          51,763  $   776,445 
Refunds              (862) $    (12,930)          (1,225) $    (18,375)

Net         44,081  $   661,215         50,538  $   758,070 

average sale per month 4029

Transpoder cost (per 
Unit)

Fulfillement and 
management cost 
(per unit)

Tax filing  cost 
(per month)1

Tax filing  cost 
(per unit)1

CDOT staff cost 
(per month)

CDOT staff cost 
(per unit)

Average tax 
rates

Breakeven sale 
price per unit

With average sale 

10.3 3.5 9000 2.23 650 0.161313672 8.31%

total 16.19 17.54$                  
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